Contest for the 2014/15 “Rainbow” Award

Belgrade, 17 April 2015

Gay Straight Alliance (GSA; Alliance) announces that it has opened a contest for the “Rainbow” Award for the 2014/15. The competition is open until May 10th 2015, and more on the contest requirements and nomination procedures can be found on a web page

DUGA-nagrada-logo-1Contest for the “Rainbow” Award for the 2014/15 is public and it involves those who with their work, commitment, performance and results contributed to decreasing homophobia and transphobia, protection and promotion of human rights of LGBT persons, improvement of status and quality of life of LGBT people and the promotion of equality and tolerance towards the LGBT community in Serbia in past year.

The winner will be chosen by independent jury who each year consist of eminent and successful individuals from various fields, previous winner of the “Rainbow” Award, representatives of GSA as a Award founder, as well as activists of other organizations that deal with LGBT rights. The “Rainbow” Award for the 2014/15 will be chosen by jury in following composition: Ms Tanja Miščević, Head of Negotiating Team for Accession of Republic of Serbia to the EU and last year Rainbow Award winner; Ms Ljiljana Smajlović, President of Journalists’ Association of Serbia (UNS) and Editor in Chief of daily newspapers Politika; Ms Ivana Konstantinović, journalist of B92 television; Mr Nikola Radišić, journalist of N1 television; Ms Jovana Gligorijević, journalist of weekly newspapers Vreme; Mr Boris Trivan, program director of the Digital Communications Institute; Mr Predrag Azdejković, President of Gay Lesbian Info Centre (GLIC) and editor of gay magazine “Optimist”; Ms Jovanka Todorović, Coordinator of Labris; as well as Ms Milica Radović, GSA activist and representative of Award founder.

The award called “Rainbow” was established by GSA in 2013 and it is awarded regarding May 17th – the International Day against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHO) for the contribution to the fight against homophobia and transphobia, and protection and promotion of LGBT rights in Serbia in the past year.

Last year Award winner is Ms Tanja Miščević, Head of Negotiating Team for Accession of Republic of Serbia to the EU and the first “Rainbow” Award for the 2012/13 was won by Department for community policing of the Ministry of Interior (MUP) of Serbia.

Info Center GSA